Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  


Highland nominations for General Election 2015

9th April 2015

A total of 19 candidates are seeking election on Thursday 7 May in the three Highland UK Parliamentary General Election constituencies.

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross constituency has attracted 5 candidates; Ross Skye and Lochaber constituency, 7 candidates; and Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey constituency, 7 candidates.

Voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 7 May at 283 polling stations (76 in Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross; 112 in Ross, Skye and Lochaber; and 95 in Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey).

The count will take place overnight, starting as soon after 10 pm as possible at the Highland Football Academy, Victoria Park, Dingwall.

Steve Barron, Chief Executive of The Highland Council is the Returning Officer for the three constituencies.

Candidates in each of the three constituencies are as follows:

· Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Constituency

o John Robert Erskine - Scottish Labour Party.
o Alastair Robert Graham - Scottish Conservative and Unionist.
o Paul William Monaghan - Scottish National Party (SNP).
o Ann Therese Murray - UK Independence Party (UKIP).
o John Archibald Sinclair Thurso - Scottish Liberal Democrats.

· Ross, Skye and Lochaber Constituency

o Philip Andrew Anderson - UK Independence Party (UKIP).
o Ian Blackford - Scottish National Party (SNP).
o Ronnie Campbell - Independent.
o Chris Conniff - Scottish Labour Party.
o Charles Peter Kennedy - Scottish Liberal Democrats.
o Lindsay Sarah McCallum - Scottish Conservative and Unionist.
o Anne Katherine Thomas - Scottish Green Party.

· Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

o Danny Alexander - Scottish Liberal Democrats.
o Donald MacLeod Boyd - Scottish Christian Party "Proclaiming Christ's Lordship".
o Les Durance - UK Independence Party (UKIP).
o Drew Hendry - Scottish National Party (SNP).
o Edward Brian Stanford Mountain - Scottish Conservative and Unionist.
o Isla Maree O'Reilly - Scottish Green Party.
o Mike Robb - Scottish Labour Party.

Further information on the UK Parliamentary Election including statement of persons nominated in the 3 Highland constituencies can be viewed at:


Related Businesses


Related Articles

Review of Debt advice and related services
The Council has a legal duty to provide certain advice and information services on debt, welfare and housing for local residents.  Employment rights advice is also provided but there is no statutory duty on the Council to provide this.  
Closing the attainment gap in Highland
Highland Council is fully supportive of the aim to close the poverty-related educational attainment gap between children and young people from the least and most disadvantaged communities.  In Highland, 1537 Primary and 1006 Secondary School children live in the most deprived data zones.  
Council gets tough on unlicensed HMO
Last week, The Highland Council issued rent suspension orders (RSO) in relation to a number of properties being operated as unlicensed houses in multiple occupation (HMO).   The orders, which have been served on the owners and tenants, mean that the tenants are no longer under any obligation to pay rent to their landlord.  
Council Leader Welcomes Scottish Government's Rural Tourism Infrastructure Fund
The Leader of The Highland Council Councillor Margaret Davidson welcomed the First Minister's announcement of a Rural Tourism Infrastructure Fund to deliver much needed improvements to tourist infrastructure to support the rising numbers of visitors to the Highlands.   This comes the week after figures were published for August which showed Highland visitor attractions were performing 17% higher compared to August last year, a result that is backed by accounts from residents and businesses that the area has been hugely popular with visitors this season.  
Highland is ready for winter - are you?Thumbnail for article : Highland is ready for winter - are you?
The Highland Council is ready for winter and prepared to grit council roads as the council's winter maintenance programme starts on 14 October.   Trunk roads in Highland are the responsibility of Transport Scotland and their operators Bear Scotland.  
Trading Standards are looking for Test Purchasers
Trading Standards are looking for young people to take part in test purchasing exercises.  We want to find out which shops are breaking the law by selling age restricted products to young people under 18.  
Killimster Moss Road OpeningThumbnail for article : Killimster Moss Road Opening
Caithness Civic leader Cllr Willie Mackay (centre) cuts the tape at the opening of the newly refurbished half mile Killimster Moss stretch of the B876 Wick to Thurso road.   Looking on are some of the Highland council workers praised for the project which was done on time and within budget.  
Praise for B876 Killimster Moss road refurbishmentThumbnail for article : Praise for B876 Killimster Moss road refurbishment
Caithness Civic Leader Cllr Willie Mackay has welcomed the reopening of the B876 Killimster Moss Road.   A stretch of the Caithness Wick to Thurso road at Killimster Moss was refurbished over a four week programme of improvement and reopened on Friday 29 September.  
Consultation on review of Highland polling stations
A chance to have your say.   Voters are being invited to have their say on a review of polling places throughout the Highland Council area The Council has today (Monday 2 October 2017) launched a consultation over its review of election polling districts and polling places.  
£1 million for school libraries over 3 years
The Scottish Government is allocating £1 million to improve school libraries over the next three years.   Launched today by the Deputy First Minister, the School Library Improvement Fund will be open for education authorities to apply for funding on behalf of school libraries in their area.  

[Printer Friendly Version]