Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider  


Council Introduces Speed Limits At Nine More Highland Schools

11th September 2008

From Monday 15th September, 2008, eight more schools in the Highlands will have
part time 20mph speed limits in operation for childrens' safety and one school will have its 20mph signage extended.

The part-time 20mph speed limit at Muirtown Primary School, Inverness is being extended to include Scorguie Road at its junction with Firthview Drive. This will become effective from Monday 15th September, 2008. This extension will be timed to coincide with the current timings at Muirtown School. With the completion of Muirtown Primary School all the schools within the City of Inverness will have 20mph speed limits in place.

The other eight new part time speed limits will be in operation on school days at:

Rosehall Primary School from 8:55am to 9:10am; 2:30pm to 2:45pm; and 3:00pm to 3:15pm.
Lochinver Primary School from 8:40am to 9:00am; 2:40pm to 2:55pm; and 3:10pm to 3:25pm.
Dunbeath Primary School from 9:05am to 9:30am; 3:00pm to 3:15pm; and 3:30pm to 3:45.
Thrumster Primary School from 9:10am to 9:30am; 1:00pm to 1:10pm; 1:20pm to 1:45pm; 3:00pm to 3:15pm; and 3:30pm to 3:45.
Dingwall Academy from 8:20am to 9:00am; 12:55pm to 1:10pm; 1:30pm to 1:45pm and 3:35pm to 3:50pm.
Dingwall Primary from 8:20am to 9:00am; 12:15pm to 12:30pm; 12:45pm to 1:00pm; 1:15pm to 1:30pm; and 3:00pm to 3:20pm.
Ferintosh Primary School: Monday ~ Friday 8:25am to 9:00am; 3:00pm to 3:15pm; Mondays only (due to a class changeover 1:10pm to 1:30pm; 1:50pm to 2:00pm; 2:45pm to 3:00pm (This is because there is PE and Art on a Monday and the classes have a changeover.) From 10/10/08 until Easter break ~ Fridays only 2:15pm to 2:25pm; and 2:40pm to 2:50 pm.
Munlochy Primary School 8:45am to 9:05am; 12:00noon to 12:15pm; 12:30pm to 12:45pm; 1:00pm to 1:15pm; 3:05 to 3:20pm.

When the limits at these schools become operational 47 of the 63 schools in Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross, where 20 limits are to be introduced, will be in place and 64 of the 82 schools in Ross, Skye and Lochaber, will be operational. It is intended to introduce 20 speed limits at 206 schools in The Highland Council area. This latest group of schools will see the number completed rise to 168.

Motorists are reminded that if they speed in the vicinity of Highland schools the penalties can be tough. The Highland Council, Northern Constabulary and the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service (Highlands and Islands Area) are clear that if motorists are caught speeding near Highland schools where a 20mph limit is in place, robust enforcement action will be taken by both the Police and the Procurator Fiscal Service.

[Printer Friendly Version]