Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider  


Conservatives Select Andrew Sinclair To Contest Westminster Seat

10th November 2019

Photograph of Conservatives Select Andrew Sinclair To Contest Westminster Seat

Highland Conservatives have named their candidate to contest the three-way marginal seat of Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross at the December General Election.

Cllr Andrew Sinclair has been selected by the party to stand for mainland Great Britain's most northerly Westminster seat.

Caithness native, Sinclair is currently a councillor for the Wick and East Caithness ward on the Highland Council, winning the seat as the highest placed party candidate, seeing off opposition from the SNP, Labour and the Liberal Democrats.

At the campaign launch in Tain, Cllr Sinclair spoke of his delight at receiving the Conservative and Unionist candidacy. "I am honoured and privileged to have been given the opportunity to stand as the Conservative and Unionist candidate for Caithness, Sutherland and East Ross.

"I am proud of my involvement in progressing issues on behalf of constituents in the Far North of Scotland and I hope to build on this during the campaign. I have taken a particular interest in the damaging centralisation that is hitting our community hard; our depopulation crisis and the Scottish Government's failure to provide local career opportunities for our young people, with so many people now having to move away in search of work.

"This election is vital in allowing our community to move on. From the green benches at Westminster we must have somebody who will stand up for the electorate in the Far North of Scotland; championing the issues important to this area, whilst also getting Brexit sorted, stopping Indyref2 in its tracks and getting on with the things that really matter to ordinary people.

"Anything other than a Conservative and Unionist being returned to Westminster will mean more dither and delay."

Previous elections

2017 Jamie Stone - LibDem

2015 Paul Monaghan - SNP

2010 John Thurso Lib Dem

Previous History of the representation

[Printer Friendly Version]